Executive Officers

Vicente Anido, Jr., Ph.D. has served as our Chief Executive Officer since July 2013 and as Chairman of our Board since April 2013. Dr. Anido is the former President, Chief Executive Officer and Director of ISTA Pharmaceuticals, Inc., which was acquired by Bausch + Lomb, Inc. in 2012. Prior to joining ISTA Pharmaceuticals, Dr. Anido served as general partner of Windamere Venture Partners from 2000 to 2001. From 1996 to 1999, Dr. Anido served as President and Chief Executive Officer of CombiChem, Inc., a drug discovery company. From 1993 to 1996, Dr. Anido served as President of the Americas Region of Allergan, Inc., where he was responsible for Allergan’s commercial operations for North and South America. Prior to joining Allergan, Dr. Anido spent 17 years at Marion Laboratories and Marion Merrell Dow, Inc., including as Vice President, Business Management of Marion’s U.S. Prescription Products Division. Dr. Anido previously served as a member of the board of directors of QLT Inc. from 2012 to 2013, Depomed, Inc. from February 2013 to May 2016 and Nicox S.A. from June 2013 to June 2014. In addition, from 2002 to 2008, Dr. Anido served as a member of the board of directors of Apria Healthcare, Inc. Dr. Anido received his B.S. and M.S. from West Virginia University and his Ph.D. from the University of Missouri, Kansas City.
Casey C. Kopczynski, Ph.D. has served as our Chief Scientific Officer since co-founding our company in 2005. From 2002 to 2005, he was the Managing Partner at Biotech Initiative, LLC, a consulting practice dedicated to emerging biotech companies. He was also previously the Vice President of Research at Ercole Biotech, Inc. from 2003 to 2004, a company developing drugs for the treatment of cancer, inflammation and orphan genetic diseases. Prior to Ercole Biotech, Inc., Dr. Kopczynski was Director of Research and a founding member of the scientific staff at Exelixis, Inc. from 1996 to 2002. Dr. Kopczynski received his Ph.D. in Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology from Indiana University and was a Jane Coffin Childs Research Fellow at the University of California, Berkeley.
John W. LaRocca, Esq. joined Aerie as our General Counsel in February of 2018. From March 2015 through January 2018, Mr. LaRocca served as Executive Vice President and General Counsel for Eagle Pharmaceuticals, Inc. From December 2005 through December 2012, Mr. LaRocca was Chief Legal Officer for the Americas for Actavis Inc. and from January 2013 through December 2014, was Deputy General Counsel for Actavis plc. Prior to that, Mr. LaRocca served as Divisional Counsel-US Generics for both Purepac Pharmaceuticals and Alpharma Pharmaceuticals from September 2000 through December 2005. Previously Mr. LaRocca practiced corporate and commercial law in New York with Parker Duryee Rosoff & Haft; Christie & Viener; and Webster & Sheffield. Mr. LaRocca received his B.A. from Columbia College and his J.D. from Columbia Law School.
Thomas A. Mitro has served as our President and Chief Operating Officer since August 2013. From November 2012 to August 2013, Mr. Mitro served as Vice President, Sales and Marketing at Omeros Corporation, a clinical-stage biopharmaceutical company. Prior to this, Mr. Mitro was Vice President, Sales and Marketing at ISTA Pharmaceuticals from July 2002 to July 2012, where he was instrumental in building ISTA’s commercial operations and launching several eye-care products, including Bromday (bromfenac ophthalmic solution) 0.09% and Bepreve (bepotastine besilate ophthalmic solution) 1.5%. Previously, Mr. Mitro held various positions at Allergan, Inc., including Vice President, Skin Care; Vice President, Business Development; and Vice President, e-Business. Mr. Mitro received his B.S. degree from Miami University.
Richard J. Rubino has served as our Chief Financial Officer since October 2012. From March 2008 to April 2012, Mr. Rubino served as Senior Vice President, Finance and Chief Financial Officer of Medco Health Solutions, Inc. and from May 1993 to March 2008 served as Controller, Chief Accounting Officer and Vice President of Planning. Previously, Mr. Rubino held various positions at International Business Machines Corporation from 1983 to May 1993 and PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP (formerly Price Waterhouse & Co.) from 1979 to 1983. Mr. Rubino is a Certified Public Accountant and a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. Mr. Rubino received his B.S. in Accounting from Manhattan College. He has been a director of the Northside Center for Child Development since 2009, the Board Treasurer from 2012 through 2016, and became Board President in 2016. He also currently serves as a member of the Finance Committee and Executive Committee.

Leadership Team

  • Vicente Anido, Jr., Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board
  • Tori Arens, Vice President of Drug Product Manufacturing
  • Eric Carlson, Ph.D., Vice President of Research and Development
  • Mitchell deLong, Ph.D., Vice President of Chemistry
  • Marvin Garrett, Vice President of Regulatory & Quality Affairs
  • Theresa Heah, M.D., Vice President of Clinical Research & Medical Affairs
  • Barry Ivin, Site Director, Athlone Plant, Ireland
  • Casey Kopczynski, Ph.D., Chief Scientific Officer
  • John LaRocca, Esq., General Counsel
  • Richard Lewis, M.D., Chief Medical Officer
  • John Maltman, Ph.D., Vice President of Medical Affairs
  • Michael McCleerey, Vice President of Portfolio Development
  • Carmen McCormick, Esq., Chief Compliance Officer and Corporate Counsel
  • Kathleen McGinley, Vice President of Human Resources & Corporate Services
  • Gerry McKenzie, Vice President of Commercial Operations
  • Deanne Melloy, Vice President of Marketing
  • Gary Menichini, Vice President of Commercial N.A.
  • Thomas Mitro, President and Chief Operating Officer
  • Judith Robertson, Chief Commercial Officer
  • Richard Rubino, Chief Financial Officer
  • Kenneth Ruettimann, Ph.D., Vice President of Manufacturing
  • Beth Schultz Scott, O.D., Vice President of Medical Science
  • Dale Seibt, Vice President of Market Access
  • Craig Skenes, Vice President of Business Development
  • Christopher Staten, Vice President of Finance